Reading Goals for 2024

First, I ought to comment on how I got on with last year’s goals. The vast majority of my books came from the library although I had to reserve them as they were not in my small, local one. I spent £97 – it’s £1 per reservation – and if I had bought those books at today’s prices they would have cost me £1004 so a tenth of the cost approximately. I am going to continue to do the same this year because I just wouldn’t have the space to store 97 hardback books each year.

My second goal was to read all the books that were mentioned more than once in the ‘best of . . .’ lists. You can see the results of that in the post where I read everything that really did interest me.

I didn’t read one complete ‘best of . . .’ list but did manage to read most off the BBC recommendations, so partly achieved.

What will I do in 2024?

  1. Continue to borrow as many books as possible from the library – it really works for fiction but non-fiction is nowhere near as upto date in the county which is a shame because goal number 2 is . . .
  2. Read a greater range of non-fiction. I read more than I think but there are some areas I would like to know more about – AI for instance.
  3. Join in and comment on other blogger’s posts. It was so exciting to get some comments on my own blog.

That will be enough. I belong to three book clubs so every 6 weeks I need to read three books for those meetings which means joining in other challenges such as read the classics or all of an author’s works is just a bit too much for me and limits other reading. I will continue to record a review for books I enjoy on both this blog and LibraryThing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *