The Rathbones Folio Prize

This prize celebrates the best literary talent from the UK and around the world.

Winner 2022

The Magician by Colm Tóibín


  • Assembly by Natasha Brown
  • The Promise by Damon Galgut
  • Men who Feed Pigeons by Selima Hill
  • Albert and the Whale by Philip Hoare (NF)
  • Small Things Like These by Claire Keegan
  • My Phantoms by Gwendoline Riley
  • China Room by Sunjeev Sahota
  • The Magician by Colm Toibin

Longlist also included:

  • A Little Devil in America by Hanif Abdurraqib
  • Checkout 19 by Claire-Louise Bennett
  • Everyone Knows Your Mother is A Witch by Rivka Galchen
  • The Nutmeg’s Curse: Parables for a Planet in Crisis by Amitav Ghosh (NF)
  • Palmares by Gayl Jones
  • Notes on the Sonnets by Luke Kennard (P)
  • Everybody: A Book About Freedom by Olivia Laing
  • Sea State byTabitha Lasley
  • My Body by Emily Ratajowski
  • Beautiful World, Where Are You? by Sally Rooney
  • Amnion by Stephanie Sy-Quia (P)